Back & Forth Breaking up...Am I wrong?

Okay so this post is going to be long due to the fact there is a lot that happened in my relationship. I feel like I need to talk about it and just let everything out to people who I don't know to get honest feedback and advice...so here it goes.

I was in a relationship for 6 1/2 years with a girl I met in college. (Im a girl also). When we met I had just cut ties with an ex boyfriend I dated on and off and high school and really wasn't looking to date at all. I went to a big college away from home where I only know a few people but none were considered to be "friends". The girl I dated I knew who she was because she hung around people I knew from back home but thats all I pretty much knew about her. We were introduced through a mutual girl we both knew and started to hang out a lot after that (just as friends). She was already a year in at the college while I was a freshman so I was just happy to start making friends. At the time I didn't know she was into girls and I didn't know I was either. I kissed girls before I never thought of dating one. Fast forward a couple months into the semester we were together everyday all day and I noticed I started to like her more than a friend. During this time I also learned from other people that she was into girls. I expressed my feelings towards her and felt the same and we started dating after about 4 months of our friendship.