Breaking up with boyfriend of 7 years share same friend group

I recently BU with my boyfriend of 7 years in February. We had been together since we were 16 and essentially grew up together. We stayed together while I went off to college and started to get rocky my Junior year. He wanted an open relationship which worked while we were away and we remained together.

As I went into my last semester, I wanted a break because the open relationship made me feel uncomfortable. I didn't like being on a date with another guy and then receiving texts from my "boyfriend." I felt awkward.

This semester was difficult for me, I missed him every day and felt immense regret and guilt. I missed my best friend.

After I graduated and moved home this last December, I reached out to him and he was open to fixing things with me. He expressed that in his mind it was over for good and was very surprised that I still wanted to be with him, which hurt me a lot, but I realize you can't control how other people feel or receive your actions.

Things were going better, we had discussed areas in our relationship we wanted to work on, but I started to freak out. Suddenly the length of our relationship begun to weigh on me. I wanted to be with other people. I didn't understand where our relationship was headed. I felt like we were missing out on being young dumb 20-some-things.

I expressed my thoughts, because in the past I had always held things in and in an effort to be in a healthier relationship, I shared all of this.

He took this as a break up and we didn't speak for two weeks...and eventually I reached out wondering what the f*** just happened. We went out for a drink and everything felt better, I missed him and it was like a breath of fresh air to be around him again.

We went back to his place, and he expressed that he was sad because he felt like he couldn't be affectionate given the unknown status of our relationship.