When all his friends are your friends

I'm going to type out a background of the relationship and breakup as a way of venting and also explanation because I feel like I'm going to explode if I don't.

I am a transfer student in my third year of college. I started at a new school last semester and did not know anyone. I met my ex within a few weeks of moving here and we spent every day together. He practically lived at my apartment. From the beginning, we had a super close relationship that seemed too good to be true. I guess it really was in the end.

It's been one week since the breakup. It was an extremely frustrating one as it was truly out of nowhere. I know a lot of times on this forum people will say that and sometimes backtrack and remember red flags but there was only really the week previous to breaking up that it got bad. He randomly became extremely distant and called me out of nowhere and said he did not feel that "in love" feeling anymore. I have been struggling immensely despite going through a bad breakup in the past. Part of this also has to do with the fact that I do not have any other friends beyond his friend group.

Because I started somewhere new on my own, his friends became my friends. Him and his friend group are the only people I actually knew and hung out with. Because of this, I am really conflicted on what to do now.

He was out of town this past weekend and his friends invited me out clubbing and I went with them and was really happy to be invited. As you probably know if you've been dumped, it's extremely hard to go out and have a good time and enjoy the things you normally would but I gave it the best that I could and everyone was extremely nice to me. A few of his friends told me they liked having me around better than him too which made me feel good.