GIGS? Emotional immaturity? !

stlcardinals

Ex-gf and I of 4 years broke up last Sunday. We met in college when she was 18, I was 22. Shared two dogs together as well, and mostly lived with each other throughout college. As I graduated I got a job, and soon got my own place in which she stayed with me for 6 months before graduating herself. She comes from a pretty well-off family, with her dad having his own business and them traveling to many countries and going back overseas to home every summer as well. She was offered a job from her dad after graduation, but she was forced to move back home as well.

We were in love pretty much the first 3 years as we both aren't particularly crazy social people and we enjoyed exploring and spending time with each other mostly. We would get into fights occasionally, and she wasn't much of the communicative type, mostly avoiding confrontation, whereas I would always want to talk about problems. During our biggest fights she would walk out and not deal with the problems, and towards the last year we had 3 major fights in which she walked out of all the arguments.

She felt more distant this last year leading to the breakup. Affection levels died down, she stopped saying I love you, and sex decreased. She complained often that she wasn't happy living at home, and her mom had issues with her coming over on weekends to stay at my place (traditional asian mom). I would ALWAYS be the one backing down my pride during our fights this past year, and when we came and talked I would do most of the talking, while she sat to hear what she wanted to hear from me, then she would chime in and give us another 'chance'.