Break up, ex and OCD

Note: This may not be fully understood unless you have an understanding of obsessive compulsive disorder.

I had a break up 6 months ago in which my ex who i thought was going to be the one broke up with me not because falling out of love but because she is young and wanted time to focus on her studies and discover herself. Even recently still claiming she would like to reconcile but not sure when.

I am a professional gambler and make my from betting. She is against horse racing ethically so much so it makes her sick. I used to make money betting on horses but gave it away when we were together, as I value her so much. Once she broke up with me I started betting on racing again. My initial thinking was she did break up with me, I can do what I want and if we get back together in the future I would of course give it up. Recently I think because she was warming to me a little I started feeling extreme guilt and anxiety for what I had done. To the point where it was too unbearable I messaged her and told her. She has read my messages and not replied. Have I ruined all chances of reconciliation? did i do anything wrong? has my obsessions and compulsions put the final nail in the coffin? The entire situation makes me sick. I just want her to message me and tell me everything is ok, but its not happening and I would just like to put my mind to rest.

I'm sorry you're in this situation.

From your ex's POV: She would have wanted you to stop gambling on horses not for her but because it's unethical. When you went back to doing it, it showed her that in this area, your ethics aren't compatible.

ExpatInItaly

There are a couple of separate issues here:

1) She is ethically opposed to gambling

2) She is young and wanted to focus on her schooling and discover herself.