Still not over my babies mum

Hello all,

This is my first time ever posting anything anywhere online, so I apologise in advance for any errors or if reading this has been a waste of your time.

I have done this as I'm not sure where else to turn anymore and feel extremely isolated and confused.

I have a 3 year old daughter with my ex-girlfriend of around 4 years. The relationship was not brilliant and after around the second year and whilst she felt like she was more a mother than a girlfriend, I was totally besotted and possibly quite suffocating for her. Inevitably we split up as neither of us were ever making one another happy. During an irresponsible and emotional moment we had break up sex ( which is when my daughter was conceived ) I moved out following that and we now focus our enegies into bringing up our beautiful daughter separately.

The long and the short of it is that even after over 3 years I am still not at all over her. I miss her everyday and get a whirling feeling in my stomach anytime I think of her. Neither of us have had a new relationship however I know when that time comes I will find it extremely hard to deal with seeing her with someone else. For me, I don't think a new relationship is on the cards for a long time yet.

These emotions towards her are already so over powering and unbearable, let alone when she ends up moving on.

Why do I still feel like this after so long and why do I feel so anxious when I think of her?

I just want to be able to rid myself of the emotion I feel towards her as I feel like I cannot live my life until I do so,

Thanks for reading and any support/advice would be much appreciated

Tiger

Edited by Terrytiger

It can take a long time to move on from a bad break up.

Unfortunately total NC is not an option if you have a child together. But you can already start with reducing contact as much as possible.