She wants a break but says she wants to get back together in the future

This is my first time posting to any forum so kind of weird. I have had a loving relationship for over 3 years with my ex girlfriend. We broke up 5 days ago. We have no broken up 2 times. Once last year around this time and this time now. The first time was my decision. I wasn't sure I loved her because I was having feelings for someone else. I broke it off and in a month realized that indeed she was the one. She was hesitant but in about a week we got back together. This year its my turn. She wants a break. She says she loves me and just wants time apart. We packed up her things and she left, in between packing we discussed things over and over again going around in circles, she kept saying she doesn't want this to be permanent. My insisting that it was probably permanent caused it to take 4 more hours to pack up her things, as if she didn't want to leave without giving me hope for an "us" in the future. The first three days I called her once a day. She turned down a one way plane ticket to live with her family on the other side of the continent. My friend who is dating one of her friends said she turned it down to work on our relationship. On the third night I wrote her an apology letter realizing the faults I caused in the relationship and that I can understand she wants a break. I told her it wan't a plea to get her back I just wanted to apologize for all the bad times I caused in the last 2 months. I truly love her and deep down I believe she truly loves me. If nothing else I just want her to be happy. If its not with me, its not with me. Better she's gone than staying with me but not loving me. I haven't talked to her for a day. She called me twice yesterday. The first times she's called in the 5 days. The conversations we had we're kept light and just kind of catching up on what's going on in our lives. I really hope she decides to come back but what I need to know is. How long should I