The brain, the ex and the BF

HeartbrokenNewbie

HeartbrokenNewbie

Well Im not quite sure what has happened today... my background is that my ex and I broke up nearly 6 months ago after 3 years I was truly devastated... then I met my new BF about 3 weeks ago he's fantastic and I cannot believe I have found someone else that I like so much (I was giving up on dating!) its wonderful and although I do still think about the ex every day I dont feel sad anymore but yes there is a lot of bitterness and anger still towards him.

Things have been going fantastic with the new one every time I see him I like him more but today... today I cant seem to bounce off him like I usually do, I cant seem to feel the butterflies and I seem to want to make peace with my ex (I WONT!!) the ex is more at the front of my mind not so much him but the memories... why is this happening and how do I make those feelings change back or is this normal in this period of meeting someone when in the midst of heartbreak...? x I really like this guy x

Philosoraptor

Sounds like you're in rebound denial. You want to be close to someone but once those fuzzy feelings are gone you can no longer ignore the void you are still feeling regarding your ex. Which is why he is at the forefront of your mind versus this new guy you really like.

At the very least you should not get too serious with this new guy until you've dealt with all these feelings for your ex. Put yourself in his shoes, would you like to have your current partner struggling to get over his ex?

• Like 1
  • Author
HeartbrokenNewbie

Thank you x