High school sweetheart sadness

Hi everyone, please bear with me as my post is very long. This is the first time I have EVER posted anything online... I have been visiting enotalone for about 2 years now, always reading about other people's heartbreak to try and help my own, but to no avail. Please nobody make insulting or degrading remarks about me. I'm suffering enough.

Here is my story... My high school sweetheart (we are both 29) and I reconciled after 10 years apart. We have both been married to other people for brief periods, and neither of us have children. He didn't know what he wanted for a very long time, but eventually he decided that leaving his wife to be with me was the right thing for him. Things were amazing from the point when he realised it was me he wanted to be with, after all, we had 10 years to catch up on.

However, six months into our relationship, I discovered he was cheating on me with his ex wife. I ended our relationship and 2 weeks later he was begging me to forgive him and to marry him. I accepted his proposal about a month later, and the very next day, he withdrew it. T

hen months later, he bought me a beautiful engagement ring and left it on my driveway in the middle of the night in the pouring rain after a fight, just to prove some crazy point. I have never worn the ring - it was never given to me properly, and he has since sold it. T

his was more than 2 years ago. It has been very up and down, on and off for a long time but he'd always beg me to take him back even though he was the one breaking up with me all the time. About a year ago, he changed. He has become cold, cruel, abusive, punishing, demanding and spiteful. He is constantly threatening to leave me and is causing me so much emotional distress that I become hysterical. I beg him to give me emotional security and to just love me the way he used to.