Break up, and staying best friends after it?

Hey there guys,

I have read quite a few threads on here, but I thought I'd make my own to see what you think.

About a month and half ago my ex of 9 months broke up with me. I'm a 21yo student, she's a 19yo student in the same uni.

The relationship was great, we'd spend a good amount of time together, not too much, not too little. The sex was great aswell, she had a higher sex drive. However that's where the things started to go wrong.

As I didn't do much sleeping around in my first 2 years of uni, my casanova/sleeping around phase kicked in right in the middle of our relationship. I really wanted to have one night stands, hence when I had sex with my ex it would not be as much of a thrill anymore, which she started to notice as I wasn't enthusiastic about it anymore.

Other than that, we were a great couple, we would hang out and do cute things together, but in the end my sleeping around instinct overpowered my senses and I didn't show as much passion towards her as I did before.

So after going on a break, she broke up with me. She was very sad about it, crying, telling me how much of a great person I am and how much I meant to her, she wants to remain as best friends etc.

To which I thought, you know what, that is probably the best solution for both of us.

However, bring the time 2 weeks forward and now I'm the one who's crying like a baby because I miss her like hell. I mean, we still talk a lot, and see each other from time to time. But I can't help to want her back in my life as a girlfriend. I told her that straight, hoping she might take me back. She on the other hand has said it bluntly, "I need time to move on, and your texts are not helping. I don't want to hurt you, but you have to accept that the decision I made, I will stick by it."