3 year relationship, taking a break

Hi everybody. First post! I've decided to give anonymous therapy a shot :) I'm sure someone out there can empathize.

So here it goes. Sorry if its too long.

My gf and I started dating in college a little less than 3 years ago. We're both 23 years old. She graduated a year before me, and so we did the long distance thing while I finished up my last year (and studied abroad (faithfully)). She got a job straight out of college in a suburb area (boring as hell, and isolated). When i graduated I moved in with her and found a job in the area (in her father's profession), because I wanted to strengthen our relationship while we started our professional careers... Turns out that didn't work too well!

I hated the area, had no friends, was isolated from my family and friends back home, and worked at a real creepy company where it was impossible to network with anyone my age. I got depressed, and inevitably took it out on my gf. It got to the point where we were both miserable. We always knew we wanted to have our own lives, our own space and hobbies, like back in college (together but not co-dependent). We were happy then.

Eventually she confronted me and said, "get your own place or get out" in so many words, "we need more space". I didn't take it too well. After all, I had made so much effort to be with her and make her happy. Regardless, I moved back to my hometown, where life is even more mundane. We had decided to "take a break", and see what happened. We said it was OK to go out and meet people and be young, but if we wanted to start seeing someone else, we would break up for real. She, however, is the only one who has the opportunity to go out, as I'm stuck in this little hick town applying for new jobs (yes i quit that other job), and going to therapy sessions to try to rationalize everything.