My boyfriend's an addict & I'm moving away soon. Should we try to make it work?

I have been with my boyfriend for about 4 months. We fell in love and I have never cared about anyone this much:love:. He is working and I am a college student, but I am returning home in about a month, and am unsure of my plans for next fall. I am willing to try a long distance relationship, because we would have access to seeing one another quite a bit throughout the summer.

The tricky thing is that he is a recovering addict. He has recently relapsed, as well as lied and stolen from me (this has happened more than once). He always comes forward with his mistakes, is genuinely sorry, does everything to make it up and continues on with his recovery. I know I have helped him immensely since we first met, but it all can be a lot to deal with. I am very understanding for I also have issues (anxiety, adhd) of my own that he copes with and supports. Still it feels like there is a lot of pressure on the relationship at times and I worry that I may put his issues before my own. But at the end of the day, I believe the pros still outweigh the cons.

He is so thankful for my support and loves me very much. He wants to stay together and do what ever it takes, while I want to enjoy our time together and take it as it comes (because we are young and I am not sure what my future holds).

I'm so scared to loose him, but I'm terrified of potentially hurting him and leading him to have a serious relapse, especially if I am so far away. Am I being selfish by staying with him, when he should be putting his recovery first? Do we try to make the long distance thing work, or just enjoy sure the time we have left? Do we stay together, or end it now before we grow any closer?