Ex gf broke no contact after 3 months, wants to be friends, and I messed up. :(

Heartache3

Hi everyone,

I've been to this site many times since my girlfriend of 3 years broke up with me, which happened late February 2011 (roughly 3 months ago). I've been constantly reading tons of people's stories and read all of your advice. I've learned from here that the NC rule is key to getting over a breakup, but before I go into what happened two days ago I'll provide some background info.

My girlfriend and I enjoyed a long and happy relationship together. We go back to Sophomore year of high school, when we became friends. Then a year later in my Junior year we fell for each other hard, and dated for a strong 3 years. Now we are both 20, she is a Sophomore at a community college back in my hometown and I am a Sophomore at a university 40 minutes away.

Though we loved each other very much, we definitely had our problems. I slowly began to learn that she had a very stubborn, controlling, and manipulative attitude. Many times she made me feel like crap, telling me I wasn't doing enough in our relationship (not talking over the phone or Facebook enough was a big one, it got to the point where I excluded my friends just to be with her and would talk for 4 hours a day sometimes) and demanded more attention. And oftentimes I found myself saying sorry to her again and again. Sometimes 10 or more times in one conversation. Even though she demanded a lot, I wanted to give her the attention, she was my everything. I loved her dearly.