No Intention Of Marriage

This may be a dumb question but I'm just wondering....

Has anyone been in a serious long term relationship which ended because you want to be married someday in the near future and your partner decided he/she has no intentions of marriage? Regardless of who ended the relationship.

It seems that this situation is happening more and more. Call me ignorant but I just can't understand why someone (especially someone in their late 20s or early 30s) wouldn't want to get married.

How could you be in love with someone, date him/her for years but not want to get married? A friend of mine dated her ex for 5 years, no ring, nothing. One of them ended the relationship and she is dating another guy and now her ex is "hurt". It doesn't make sense.

Anyone have any insight or experience?

I have some experience on the subject. I was involved with a woman and after about three months of dating, I made the decision in the back of my mind that I could not marry her. Despite that, I did not break up with her because I was having a great time in the relationship. The relationship lasted about 1 year and ended when she left the country to pursue her career aspirations. I was lucky that she had such big goals in life and left the country, because it would have been very difficult to ever break up with her because I did love her. It was a catch-22. I was so hurt once I had lost her, but I hadnobody to blame except myself. It took me a solid year to get over her. I learned so much from the experience... and I will never do it again. It ended up hurting me a lot more than it hurt her, but it was completely unfair of me. Live and learn...

Hi dont

Why did you decide after two months that you couldn't marry her? Was it your general beliefs about mariage or was there - in your eyes - something missing with her?