Everytime i try and talk about what has happened- he does not want to discuss it

Ok, I am new to this but... i have my fingers crossed that someone out there can help me understand all of this!

First, I am 23 and my boyfriend (I guess is what you would still call it) is 21 and a senior in college. Our relationship was wonderful- i could not ask for anything to have been done different! Of course we had our fights but... we always worked thru them- but what couples dont fight?! There was often MUCH talk about marriage- (he initiated every bit of it though....b/c i have always been that stand-off'ish kind of girl about that kind of stuff)

To give a little depth here to the whole situation, he is from up north and goes to school here in the south (where i am also from- we met at school) so... last summer he decided to stay here and work for the summer and not go home (which was great for me!!) but this past summer, he decided to go home. Even though this made me upset b/c i would miss him terribly, i thought this would be okay b/c it was his last real summer before graduating. Before he left, he assured me that everything was going to be fine- that he would be back and forth visiting all of the time- yada yada. However, he got busy at home doing different things and well..... i never saw him (we talked in the phone many many times a day- even though things got SO shallow- which i felt led to several of our fights)

Then in the middle of July, all of a sudden he did a 360 and was like "i dont know what i want," "i want a break" and all of that other crap- but he had NO explanation for any of it whatsoever- this devastated me!!! He said that he wanted to go the last 3 weeks of summer before he came back for school w/o talking to me. Of course i could not do it.. i ended up calling him and emailing him several times and he actually called me several times on his own (but we had good conversations minus the i love you's at the end :(