confused - 3yrs together & now broken up

My exboyfriend and I were together 3years. I'm a freshman in college and he's a junior in college. We've been the happiest couple ever and everyone thought we'd get married. These past 3months have been hectic tho. He's been going through lots of decisions and has been confused about his life. He broke up with me the first time 3months ago. He said that he needed time for himself and that he didn't love me the same way anymore. Then the next month he came crawling back to me. We still considered ourselves to be on a break but we were practically a couple. During that time he told me he loved me and that he wanted to be with me forever one day and he did so much to prove his love. It was really genuine. The month was so happy! Still I would get upset about things. Then just a week ago I got upset and made him talk with me. We decided we were moving too fast and that we actually needed a break. Then he told me again that he doesn't love me the same way. i'm so confused cause just a few days before he loved me so much. and now it changed again. We are both in college now. I realize there's a lot going on in our lives. I know he's been really confused about a lot and he's told me he has been. He said now that he's not confused right now. I don't know what to think cause I'm beyond confused. One day he loves me and the next he doesn't. I realize that we really need time apart cause we're young still and have alot of personal growing to do but I want to end up with him down the road. I love him so much! We're so happy together. I don't know what changed. I don't know what to think. I know it's best for us both to move on and live for ourselves right now. I can still see us together down the road. Am I in denial? Is there hope? Can I still think that we might get back together in the future? What do you all think from what I've said? Thanks!