How to break a heart

Hello everybody,

I've been dating a girl for the past few weeks and I've come to a conclusion that I do not want to pursue a romantic relationship with this girl.

I should be falling for this girl but unfortunately I cannot see her beyond friendship. I've been on a few dates with her hoping that those feelings will emerge but to no avail.

The issue is that she has fallen deeply for me and I want to tell her in a way that minimizes her pain. I know that she will get hurt so I want to do this in the most sensitive way. She assumes that we are a long term item but just to make it clear, I have not lead her on in any way to think that.

Any suggestions would be welcomed. I have never done this before.

Thank you,

Paco

YOU WRITE:

1. "I've been dating a girl for the past few weeks and I've come to a conclusion that I do not want to pursue a romantic relationship with this girl."

I think that's your right. I also think it takes a lot longer than two weeks to become romantic. However, it usually doesn't take long to determine if there's potential for it to go in that direction.

2. "I should be falling for this girl but unfortunately I cannot see her beyond friendship."

So exactly why do you think you "should" be falling for this girl. I've never heard this stated before and I've never heard of the concept. I don't know of any person alive on the planet who "should" be falling for somebody. Where did you get that from???

3. "I've been on a few dates with her hoping that those feelings will emerge but to no avail."

I've never gone out with a lady hoping I would fall for her. But I've been out with tons hoping they would fall for me. Your quite a specimen, Paco!!! Usually, for myself, I just let nature take its course. If I fall fine, but if I don't I don't. It's all a matter of emotions, timing, chemistry, etc.

4. "The issue is that she has fallen deeply for me and I want to tell her in a way that minimizes her pain."