after split - bf texting girl

Ive been with my boyfriend for nearly a year, we have had a fab time, been on a two week holiday and all sorts. We met at work, I was a senior manager and he wasnt which was intersting at the start but work were fine about it. We saw each other every day and I lived and breathed that place, working 14 hour days and generally working hard. This month I was let go, very distressing but bf was great, really supportive. Course now we dont see each other that much, he works lates so doesnt finish until gone midnight and Im then sleeping to get up early for my new job.

Yesterday he said he didnt know what he wanted - I sensed things werent right, I found texts from a 17 year old girl (he is 25) last week and got really upset, he said she was just a friend but because she works late (not at the same place) they are usually awake at the same time. They both live in a small village with not alot going on, I live 20 miles away. They see each other in the only pub there if he gets out of work early and he assured me she is just a friend. I do trust him but just said I didnt like it - he said he would stop texting her then. Since then I found texts because she is now seeing someone who didnt like her texting him!!! My bf was asking who it was and she didnt say because her relationship is a secret (??) My bf said she shouldnt put up with it and that he was "there for her". Then last night he says he doesnt know what he wants. I left, drove all the way home and he didnt try to stop me. He said he would be gutted if we split and when I got home, when I was most upset I said I would make it easy for him and end it - he didnt disagree.

I jsut want him to put up some sort of a fight but he just isnt like that - when we met he said he was "emotionally retarded" and it took him months to tell him he loved me. His friends say they have never seen him so happy or so close to anyone - it just doesnt make sense.