LoveShack.org Community Forums

Reload this Page LoveShack.org Community Forums > Transitioning > Getting Married

he won't marry me after 8 years & i'm devastated, what should I do?

Getting Married Cold feet to pre-marital stressors--the place to discuss all the issues that come with saying "I do."

Old 14th October 2004, 12:29 PM   #1

Angry he won't marry me after 8 years & i'm devastated, what should I do?

Hi Everyone,

I am new to this format so please don't hold any inconsistencies against me!

I noticed a few other posts from young women like myself who are in very long term relationships with good men who are resistant to marriage or engagement. I must admit that the responses from some of you who wrote back to them made me cry. It is sad to face the reality that a relationship will never progress because for one reason or another, the man does not want it to. I thought maybe I would post about my own situation and look for some honest responses.

My BF and I have been together for 8 years, since college when he was 17 and I was 21. We have broken up a few times, but mostly have been together and when we are we have a solid, caring relationship that I think makes the perfect foundation for a marriage. He is responsible, intelligent, good-looking, caring...He even moved to the other side of the country to join me. Recently he began a new career somewhere else far away, and I moved to join him.