dating...but the idea of marriage in the future? crazy idea?

I am a 20 year old student. I have been dating my boyfriend for seven months as of today. This is the longest relationship I have ever had and its all due to how we click. I honestly believe he is my soulmate. He is exactly all I ever could ask for. The perfect guy for me. I could dwell on this forever, so I will save you from that. Only problem I see with our relationship is he doesn't think about the future. I personally, as soon as I get out of college, would like to start a family. Get married and have a child. This is something that has meant alot to me since I was young. Being a mother and a wife was something I always wanted. However, the few times I spoke about the idea of marriage, he said he was too young. I wasn't asking then nor was I saying we had to. I just wanted to know if he would be up for the idea of marriage sometime in the future. I understand some guys don't want marriage. Four-six years atleast. Especially from someone with parents with marriage problems like his, which is why I ask. Just seems when I bring it up he doesn't really understand what I am asking and I feel like I am silly for asking. As if I am proposing. I understand we would need finances before jumping into something like that. I am willing to wait until he graduates and gets out of med school too. No real rush. I just feel that if he never wants to get married that I would be wasting a good thing. Does that make any sense?

How do I get someone who doesn't understand what I am trying to say to understand? Do you think he doesn't think about it and voices it because I am not his soulmate? How can I get him to think logically and speak honestly about the idea of a future..with me? Or maybe I am just crazy for thinking all of this and be happy with dating...whatever happens marriage with someone else or being with him dating forever. Suggestions or comments anyone?