Almost seven years and tired of waiting. Am I justified?

MapleTeacup

My boyfriend and I met in college and have been together for almost seven years now. He was the first to bring up marriage after three years of dating, which was exciting. However, it was understood that neither of us wanted to rush into marriage until we were both established. We've since graduated. He graduated three years ago and started out with a great job. I graduated a year after, and it took me another half a year to find a decent job starting off at the bottom of the totem pole. At that point, I had been anticipating a proposal (we've both established that marriage was definite in the future). It never came around, but I didn't stress over it since we were still young.

I'm now 25, which I know is still young, but considering the amount of time we've been together, I'd say we're ready to tie the knot. However, circumstances have since changed. My boyfriend was laid off from his well-to-do position last year. I've since flourished in my position and am able to support the both of us. I had also since gotten more impatient with marriage plans as I can tell he's made no effort to get engaged. Now, I am not insensitive to his current jobless state, but I knew for a fact (he told me) that he had a good chunk of money saved up even after being laid off. On top of that, he's currently receiving unemployment. By no means do I want him to spend his savings just to get me a ring, but since being laid off, he's gone on a cross-country backpacking trip with all new gear (backpacking gear is not cheap!), "surprised" me with backpacking gear of my own ($450+), continues to buy electronics and games, and is about to get lasik eye surgery with the last bit of his money. Meanwhile, I've told him that I want to get married, or at least let people know I'm engaged.