Money question

My SO and I just got engaged. He has been getting his MD and PhD for the last 15 years. He has many student loans and has a job where he earns a little money (residency for MD). I have been working for 15 years and have a good carreer and paycheck. We are planning to get married this fall. I have paid for putting the deposits on things and for my engagement ring and he says "he will pay me back". His financial situation is not what mine is. He pays all his bills and is responsible. Should I feel strange about this or just keep paying these things. I know what is "mine is his" etc., but I don't want to create inequality in our relationship. He will pay me back when he can I know. Any thoughts? He does not seem uncomfortable although the engagement ring and me paying for it was a bit hard for him to deal with. He wants me to be happy. Also his family is not planning to come to our wedding, but my family is. His family is not very supportive of one another and their schedules are to busy...that is what I was told. I am trying to get close to them, but it is proving to be difficult due to schedules. Thanks.

You seem to have a lot of different things going here.

1. If he can't get his MD and PhD in 15 years, he's got serious brain malfunctions. So he's in his residency now, that's good. If he's planning on working right afterwards, getting his own practice or partnering with others, he'll make plenty of money to pay you back.

Why does he need a PhD on top of an MD? Is he a lifetime student? If so, you've got major problems.

2. I have a BIG problem with a man having the woman pay for the engagement ring...in any case. He could buy you a less expensive ring now and replace it with a big rock once he's in the work force. I wouldn't have any woman of mine paying for her own engagement ring, no way. The ring is the only thing I don't feel good about you advancing money for. But that's my own opinion.