Getting Married

My fiance and I are trying to decide how to bring 2 households into 1. He has his own apartment and I own a house w/ roommates. I want to keep my house because I have worked to keep it for 6 years and I love it. My fiance does not have the credit for us to get a home together. He just finished school and has many student loans, and is just getting his first real job etc. He has his PhD and MD. I have been working for 13 years and am well established in my carreer field. I feel like there may be inequality in our relationship, but I don't want him to feel that way. He sometime feels insecure about our relationship. What should I do about the house and how do people go about trying to rearrange their lives. We are both in our mid 30s and are getting married this summer.

First of all, have a good talk with him and get this inequity crap eliminated from the equation. There is no good reason why either of you should feel odd about the circumstances.

While you may be bringing a house into the relationship, he is bringing massive education that will produce at least several million dollars over the next five to ten years. If anything, he is bringing MORE to the table than you are. The two of you are far more evolved and mature to let this be an issue and if you don't get it settled, it will be a major impediment to your happy life together.

Give your roommates notice that they will be expected to be out of your house 30 days prior to your scheduled wedding date. Spend that 30 days painting and preparing your home for your new lives together.

When you get married, everything should be in one big pot. By law in most states, you will retain the equity in your home as of the day of marriage so have the house appraised. After that, any appreciation will be a joint asset or "community property" as it is termed in most states.