Effect of age and divorce on a new relationship

Hello All!

This is my first time posting on a forum and especially one such as this. I need some advice on a relationship that has been building (or not) with one of my coworkers. First off, she is 35 and divorced with joint custody of their four kids. I am 23... We have been flirting and interacting during social gatherings for the past year. We ended up hooking up a few weeks ago. She kissed me afterwards and said to call her. We talked before about how she freaks when she gets close to guys now and I understand but I still can't help wanting more. I know if I ever want a chance I must give her space but I over analyze the things she says and constantly second guess myself. I'm usually very confident and interact easily with women. Any advice you can giv e would be much appreciated.

AGoodFriend

What I would say is relax and be happy for the experience. I'm sure it was great! That is why you want more. Being with a significantly older woman (12-20 years age difference) is a mystifying experience for a young man just starting out.

Just keep in mind a few things. She's got a lot going on in her life and may not be ready for any type of serious relationship. She's still got children who need her attention, and they are going to be her top priority. Because of the joint relationship, she is going to have to deal with the ex very frequently. Depending on how they broke up, that may or may not be a rough experience. Also consider the age difference. You may have been a fling for her, especially if she hadn't done anything since the divorce was finalized.

I would just say to give her a call at some point, see how she's doing. She if she'd like to go get a cup of coffee. Listen to her and see what's on her mind. Don't bring up the hookup unless she mentions it. If she does, see how she feels about it.