I'm New at This, So Come Lend a Hand!

Evenin' All,

How would you wonderful people like to help someone who has never been in a relationship before learn how to start and maintain one?

I'm a college student. I've never been in a relationship before. Never even been on a date. This semester a new girl in my program moved onto my floor. We became friends pretty quickly. However, I noticed that she does a handful of things that seem to suggest she wants to be more. I might be horribly mistaken, but that's why I need you guys to help me.

Firstly, she stares at me. Like a lot. I noticed it a while ago and others in my program have noticed and told me, as well. Second, she smiles or laughs at almost anything I say. She's rather serious, but I can always get her to crack a smile. Also, any time the two of us are in a larger group of people, she makes a noticeable effort to always be in my proximity. There are a few other small things she does, but the more I list the more I feel like I'm reading too much in to this.

So, let's say she's in to me (is she?), and lets say I'm interested in her (which I'm pretty sure I am). What do I even do? I only know two things about relationships:

1. Even though I have no idea what I'm doing, I need to act like I do.

2. The longer I wait to take action, the worse my chances will be.

The first thing I should probably do is ask her out on a date. Sounds simple, but I've never been on a date before. Where do we go and what do I do? Then what?

This is where I need your help! I don't care if you give me a detailed game plan or a sentence of advice. There is literally nothing you can tell me about dating and relationships that I already know, so fire away. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks guys.

Yes, the sooner you act, the better.