Should I fight for my LD, "Friends with benefits" best friend???

BurningBright

This is my first time on this site, and I'm really enjoying it. Many of the postings have helped me with some issues in my life. Thank you all and keep up the good work!!!

Now, I have one problem that I can't seem to get over within my "relationship world". I am 20 years old, and have only had bf in high school. This was what I consider "experimenting", and due to that it only lasted a few months.

This past year, during my second year of college I started talking to a male who was going to college in my hometown (only 2 hours from where I am living now). We talked for months (almost 6) online and on the phone (3-4 hours each night... at least!!) and we finally decided to meet (online meetings can work... just be safe!!!... I did have friends back home that were also friends with him)... now prior to this meeting he had mentioned how it was awful that I wasn't living there anymore, since long distance relationships are hard (he had experienced a serious one in the past), and that he didn't want things to change after this weekend, so feelings were not to get involved. I was fine with that, since all I was really looking for was a great friend.

Well... like many could have predicted.... feelings (on my part) started to arise.

One month later, he moved from my hometown to work and be closer to family. (This is now 5 hours away from where I am living). I went to visit with him and meet his family for a weekend, and things between us started to get very "hot and heavy". He ended up being my first. Now this obviously just escaladed my feelings for him. I know I started to love him. From all our conversations from before, and now the sexual aspect of a relationship.. I can't deny that I didn't feel love towards him. The problem was, he still didn't want "feelings to be involved".. and obviously just wanted a "friend with benefits" per say.