I confessed my love to him, and haven't from him since...

Hello everyone!

I've got a difficult situation on my hands, and I'd really like some input from the public. So, here we go:

I'm a college freshman, so things have been pretty difficult as is with the new transition from high school to university (I've just finished my first semester). Though loads of things have stressed me out this semester, the number one stressor that has been pressing on me more than anything is my love for my best guy friend.

A little about our "friendship": I met him at a school get-together in June at a new student orientation, and we realised that we were from the same town, only separated by different schools through redistricting. As such, we instantly clicked and became fast friends. Afterwards, we slightly lost touch between the entire month of July and mid-August.

The day before school started, we finally got together and rekindled our friendship. Since then, we got to know each other more and more, thus becoming closer and closer up to the point of becoming best friends. We trusted each other with so many personal details about ourselves that we normally wouldn't tell any of our other friends, and we generally enjoyed each other's company, too.

However, I began to notice some things about his behaviour that kind of told me there was more than just a simple friendship at play here. So one day I asked him what were his thoughts about me being his girlfriend. He told me that while he did like me, he wasn't ready for relationship. He also asked me if I wanted him to be his boyfriend, and I responded saying yes, but I was willing to wait.