Trying to move on

Hi. This is my first time posting, so please forgive me if I misuse any acronyms.

I've been involved in an affair for about three years now, EA for a good six months before the physical stuff began. We are both married, with families. I don't think that NC is possible because we work together, although I do continue to look for a new place of work on a regular basis.

What I am trying to figure out is what kind of person I got involved with and if his behavior sounds typical in this situation. I'm referring to the MOM.

Basically what happened is the relationship was amazing at the beginning, we were "in love" with no plans to leave our families. I knew it was going nowhere fast. Every time we were intimate there would be a period of time where I would not hear from the guy. I would not know what was going on - it's like he would disappear. I would get angry, send a bunch of text messages and break up with him. Then he would make up some excuse, like that he was busy or his phone had been off, and we would be on again, continuing the cycle that was making me crazy.

Over time, the communication got worse. I was so stressed out that I lost a lot of weight and had a great deal of anxiety. I went to counseling (did not help), but never had anyone to really talk to. About six months ago the MOM told me I was his addiction. Not a good sign. We were only intimate one time after that. He had reached out to me at a really rough point in my life (a family member was dying). I thought I would see him again, but here we are almost three months later and he has not texted me once! He will reply to me finally, and basically said he still feels the same and he has "been busy." When I see him face to face he shies away, sometimes says hi. But I never have a chance to corner him, and honestly I'm tired of chasing this guy to get answers.