Will it last?

BeautifulIdiot

BeautifulIdiot

So this is my first time posting on a forum but 3 months later I don't feel like I'm any closer to healing and it seems like there could be some people here who could help.

When he ended it (it shouldn't still be difficult for me to even type that, should it?) we had a week where we got the opportunity to talk which I know is a luxury a lot of people don't have.

Here's some background:

- He truly does (I need to start saying did) love me but also loves his wife. He told me never to fall in love with two people. It's hard.

- He called me when she found out and told me to wait for him to call me back. He was going home and at that point told me he cant see it ending any other way than them breaking up

- He never called me

- On Monday morning (work) he told me he could do this (us) anymore

I couldn't understand what had changed between Saturday morning and Monday morning so he told me that when he went home it was the first time he was really confronted not only with what he'd done but also with what he hadn't done which was try to make his marriage work.

So, he has to try. He says after that he can live with whatever happens, as long as he knows he really tried.

Here's the difficult part for me, the thing that eats me up every day and has me checking my email every time I hear the notification in case it's him. What if it doesn't work?

This was the purest love I ever knew and all I every wanted for him was happiness, it's all I ever wanted for me too. That's probably the thing that made it easy for us both to compartmentalize what we were doing and not feel any guilt. That part of me still wants him to be happy and if that is where his happiness lies I should be able to live with that and move on.

But I want to be happy too.

So, here's what I want to know. Does a MM ever do the right thing in his marriage, end it for the right reason and have a successful relationship with the OW?