Is MM for Real? (Sorry - its long)

formetoknow1971

I have been lurking here for some time, and have appreciated all of the stories and advice members have shared. I am finally at a point where I am ready to do the same.

I am a married professional woman, in her early 40s. I have been married for 13 years, and dated my husband for 6 years before our wedding. Our marriage was a good one until about six years ago, when a series of events, e.g., job loss, cross-country move, family illnesses, started to take there toll on my husband. I have tried and tried to support him, and to make him happy. However, he has turned bitter, and can be downright mean to me, and to my family (who have been nothing but good to him, not to mention generous). He takes me for granted, and uses me as his punching bag. Unfortunately, he started taking his behavior public about a year ago, so all of our close friends have witnessed his treatment of me. It has gotten to the point that many of them have pulled me aside and asked my why I put up with him. I have begged him to seek both individual counseling, and marriage counselling to no avail. Consequently, our marriage has crumbled. Believe me, I recognize that I am partly to blame for the fact that our relationship is as bad as it is today - I understand fully that it "takes two to tango." I am currently in therapy to help figure out where to go from here.

We have three children ages 11, 10, and 7, of which my husband is an adoring father. In fact, the one thing that has kept me with him has been that he truly loves our children, and shows them that in many ways all of the time. With that said, I am not sure that being a good father is enough to make me stay any longer.