In love with my (married) coach

I am a 20-year-old college student. I am a fall athlete, and this season we got new coaches -- a husband and wife. They are in their 40s, and have been married 25+ years.

The husband flirts with all the girls on the team. He certainly dances on the line of inappropriateness, but has never really crossed it. His wife just tolerates it -- she never appears upset.

The problem is, I am in love with him. I mean, really, truly in love. I have never felt this way about a man -- this isn't some teenage infatuation. It is real. He seems to pay a lot of attention to me, but so far we haven't had time alone, so I don't know how he really feels. But we smile and joke with each other, and make suggestive little comments. True, he does this with some other girls, but with us, I think it's a different level.

I don't know where to go from here. I am in no position to make a move, but the feeling between us is mutual. I feel the desire burning in my heart. The season will be over in the blink of an eye, and then I won't see him for close to a year. Should I just forget him?? There is something so sad about love's ending, especially love never fully realized.

Help!

Lydia

Did the thought ever strike you that your coach is a married man...married to a woman who is also a coach at your school? I hope you will consider having respect for their marriage as well as being aware of the incredible scandal and heartbreak you would create by getting something going so close to home. I mean his wife is right there. I also hope you will consider the concept of karma. If you start screwing around with a married man right there practically in front of his wife, someday you own husband will screw around with another woman very close to you.

Just forget about this. If you decided to go forward, you'll be in for more pain than you ever imagined existed on planet earth.

• Author

Tony,