Is he looking to get caught?

Newbie here...what a forum.

Brief bit of info on my situation...involved with a MM for about 6 months now. Never have done it before (I'm 47) and didn't intend for it to happen this time, but it did. I've fallen hook, line and sinker...I think he has as well.

Started as something where we'd see each other once a month...that lasted for the first month. Since then we've spent a week in France at his vacation home, planning another week there next week, W is away for a week and he's asked me to come spend the weekend in his family home, and he's planning on 3 nights at mine in September. Oh yes, another few days away at a resort in August as well.

He has said from the start he would never leave his wife. I made the decision to see him fully aware of his thoughts. It has progressed more than either of us would have ever imagined...we've both said we love each other and as noted the contact is much more intense than it should be.

This week there is a public event that he and his wife will be participating in and he has told me about it. I couldn't figure out why he was telling me about it so I asked if he wanted me to go for some odd reason...he said 'no, but I'm not telling you that you can't go'. I don't understand this...I've said something to a male friend and he said that he is sailing so close to the wind hoping to get caught.

Recently MM has said that he would leave except he's too scared...there is an adult child with difficulties and he has also said he's afraid of chancing losing contact with her (she is dependent on her parents and always will be).