Never thought I'd be an OM, but here I am...

betwixtandbetween

betwixtandbetween

Newbie here. Late 30's separated dad of young children, almost a certainty that we will make things "final" over the coming months. Been separated for almost a year now. Had absolutely no interest in even so much as dating for most of the past year. Am an active member of an athletic-related website, where I met this woman who lives a few hours away. She came down to my area to do a race with myself and a group of my friends... and we hit it off, in a huge way. There had been quite a bit of online flirting going on before we met in person, and after we met it was obvious to both of us that there was some major attraction.

Since then, she has made a couple more trips down here "for races," and this has turned into a full-blown affair. We've spent a couple of weekends together, a night here and there, etc. She is having major problems at home, which started before she met me, which have gotten worse since she has met me. She also has two rather young children, and is close to the point of a trial separation.

I am really starting to fall for her. This wasn't supposed to happen... the first person I had anything with after separating was supposed to be a low-key thing. And she certainly wasn't supposed to be married, and have kids, and live far away. We talk for a couple hours on the phone during the workday, in the evenings we communicate via email, tons of emails, and we see each other every other weekend or so. One night I drove to her location, stayed in a hotel, and she came over in the evening, and again in the morning, saying she was working out. I drove for more time altogether than I spent with her... and we are not talking about an hour's drive here. I feel like it is so stupid for me to be doing things like this... but I can't help myself.