The WS and his/her view of self

notserene

I don't want to make too much of the "affair down" concept because I feel like it's a sop to my self-esteem, but when my husband cheated on me he chose someone who is much less accomplished than I am in every way. She is an unemployed recovering drug addict and I am a professional. I don't make tons of money because I work for a nonprofit organization, but I am well regarded by my peers. My husband has a good job but he is not as well educated as I am.

I am guessing that he chose this person because he felt superior to her and because she was available...it made him feel "validated" because in her eyes he was a "catch." Needless to say, she is mentally and emotionally unstable and ending the affair took several painful days of phone calls and text messages that I had to sit through. :sick: I was quite sure that we were going to need to take out a restraining order.

I worry about what kind of person he is...that he felt the need to "prove" himself with someone else, particularly someone who sounded like she needed professional help of some kind. We had been having some financial difficulties in our marriage and he said that he felt as though I had been looking down on him...I don't really know what to make of all this. I don't think that this gave him a license to cheat, obviously.

Did your WS "affair down" and what traits in your spouse do you think pushed them in this direction?

ladydesigner

Both myself and my WH had A's that would be considered "affairing down." I believe in my WH's case she did make him feel superior because I was the breadwinner and more educated one. I never once made my WH feel less than because of it. I just did what i needed to for our family. My WH admitted to me post A that he felt inferior to me :-( So much for being a successful mom.