I ruined a wonderful marriage

My husband and I have known each other for about ten years now. We met and fell in love in college and have been together since then. He's very sweet and passive where I'm the more ambitious one. Nevertheless, we compliment each other perfectly and were very happy together.

But a few years ago, we moved back to my hometown in Maryland, as we'd been living in the south, going to post graduate school. I met up with my old boyfriend who I hadn't seen since I graduated from highschool. We were pretty serious then, but gradually lost touch once I moved across the country and met my husband. From the time we reunited, there still seemed to be sparks of our old relationship, but of course more matured. He was the type of man I'd always thought I'd marry. He's more similar to my aggressive personality and is in my line of work. I admit I still harbored feelings from him even from so long ago.

We kept steady contact, and our relationship kept progressing. My feelings for him grew, and we eventually fell into a very sexual affair :( That went on for a few months, and I started getting more wreckless and involved with the affair. In my carelessness, my poor husband walked in on us one day. I couldn't believe how ignorant and cruel I'd been to him, as he's been nothing but wonderful to me. I broke down and begged him to forgive me, and after a few weeks, he decided that we'd try to reconcile our marriage.

It's been a few months since then, and even though I've broken up with my lover, things just aren't the same at home. I've tried talking to him, treating my husband with even more attention and affection than usual, or treating him like before, but he still occasionally shies away from me. I know that what I've done will stay with the both of us forever :( but I still want to repair what we had together.