managing triggers

pathtopeace

pathtopeace

Hi All,

This is my first time posting. I have gotten a lot of comfort and guidance from reading your posts over the years (thank you). I found something that has helped me in recovery and felt I should share in case it will help anyone else.

I am a BS and my husband had an affair that lasted 11 months. We are 2.5 years past D-Day. My husband has done everything humanly possible to help us recover. The OW lives far away, abided by immediate NC and has not bothered us since other than checking my business consulting website occasionally (I can see the IP addresses and know hers). On D-Day we wrote her an email together and asked her to please respect that the affair was over and that we were moving forward.

My husband immediately started IC and we simultaneously did MC. The counseling helped us both see the clear path to the affair, made my husband aware of why he made such an incredibly damaging decision, and showed us things we could fix in our relationship to make us able to meet 100% of each others needs.

Things are much better and our marriage is much stronger than it was. We are having fun again. Oddly, except for the affair recovery, we are the happiest (individually and together) and healthiest we have ever been. It is the silver lining that emerged from the hell of the affair.

With all those stars lined up, you would think that I would be able to move past the triggers. I have been very frustrated with myself for still thinking of her and them and playing the movie images in my mind. It has gotten much better over time but it is like the affair is dead but the ghost of it still haunts my mind.

I had tried the re-focusing, the self-care, the self-talk, the meditation...all of these things. They all helped to some degree but I was still haunted. Recently, I found this website that talked of forgiveness: How to Forgive Infidelity | GoAskSuzie.com