How important is sex in a marriage?

My husband and I moved to a new town, where his kids live with their mother (his exwife), and I have had a difficult time making friends. I am much younger than most of my work colleagues, as I graduated college early, and it has been hard for me to meet people my own age.

That being said, I did meet John, with whom I began a friendship. Soon after our friendship began, my husband suddenly lost all sexual interest - he says in everyone, but I can definitely vouch for myself. (I don't think he is having an affair) As you can probably guess, (or I wouldn't be posting on this board) John and I began sleeping together. This has gone on about a year.

My husband and I are currently in counselling for many other issues, including communication and control problems. John is not committed to me - his arguement is, if I was available, he would be. I really want to salvage my marriage, but if it is a lost cause, I don't want to lose John. My husband is still sexually dysfunctional - we have sex every couple of months.

Obviously, I either have to end the affair, or leave my marriage. How important is sex in a marriage? Is it worth leaving over? Please don't be too mean.

So, John and husband are not the same guy? :confused:

Interesting how this (fact?) is obscured in your writing.

Yes, damn this marriage and committment B.S. What ever happened to having your cake and eating it to? ;)

How important is sex in a marriage? Is it worth leaving over?

Only you can make that decision. It's different for everyone. Personally, I would never give up a good guy (if that's what yours is) if he had some sort of dysfunction and was trying to work on it just to get more sex.

Hello,