Married, but still in love with High School Sweetheart

Matters of The Heart

Hello All,

Here's my story! I am a married man with children, but I am still in love with my highschool sweetheart.

I have been married now for 6 years and have my adorable children with my wife, however for the last 2-3 years I've realized that I am still in love with my highschool sweetheart.

My sweetheart and I dated when we were in highschool, but shortly after I graduated we lost contact with each other and never really had closure to what we had. I've always said that she would be the woman that I would marry. We are perfect for each other. Even now when people see us together they say things like, you guys compliment each other very well. We have mutual friends, and often find ourselves meeting up at different functions that our friends are having.

Anyway, shortly before I got married to my wife, my highschool sweetheart found out I was getting married. At the time, I will still living with my mother. I found out AFTER I had already gotten married that my highschool sweetheart came to my mothers house to confess her love for me and to see if I really knew what I was doing by marrying the woman who is now my wife.

SAD TO SAY, My mother never told me that my highschool sweetheart came over. HAD I KNOWN, I would have certainly loved to hear from her and to see her.

My highschool sweetheart attended my wedding and was going to object to the wedding when that part of the ceremony came up, but said that she didn't because she wasn't sure if I would walk away with her. She didn't want to embarrass herself. On the other hand, I thought that since we had not been in contact with each other that my feelings had drifted away for her. However, I should have know because shortly before I got married, my highschool sweetheart and I bumped into each other at a birthday party for a mutual friends son, and when I saw her, I immediately thought back to what we had and what we could have.