Fighting fair and how to repair the relationship when your'e exhausted

This is my first time posting on any site about my relationship. I feel uncomfortable. I have talked a little with a close friend, but I am concerned (since I live in a small community) that my husband will feel humiliated knowing that I'm hashing things out with friends and neighbors. So first off, thank you to whoever reads this and responds. You don't even know me. I'll try my best to describe the situation.

My husband has been more irritable than usual lately. Sometimes we have conversations and I get the sense that he feels put off by something I've said, but instead of telling me what it is, he denies feeling upset, for days even. He assures me that he thinks it's better to stew and not say anything he'll regret. But then I worry about what "it" is. I admit that this time I pushed him to talk, after three days of preoccupation on his part, and he ended up telling me he was worried I've just lied to him about how I felt about our life together, our plans for the future. He gave examples of times he thought I was rebelling against our future plans (which involve a big traveling adventure) and not showing enough enthusiasm. I have a hard time showing authentic, original feelings about these plans because he is often very anxious they won't happen, that he won't be happy in life if they don't, and demanding to talk about how we are going to do it, step by step, at inopportune moments (like right before bed when I need to sleep).