How can I forgive myself?

Hello,

I'm new to loveshack. I'm having trouble forgiving myself....

My fiancee is a wonderful man who has put up with my crap for a while now. I have been hurt so many times. Cheated on, My father was abusive and so on. When I was a child my father would take me to his mistresses house or to the hotel to meet them. He made me think that every man was like that. Then my high school sweetheart cheated on me alot during high school. I never left him because I thought that every man is like this. Then I met my fiancee , who is so wonderful. He has never given me a reason to not trust him. The problem is that its hard for me to trust anyone. I actually got done with counseling and I do not accuse him anymore and act stupid. He and I have talked deeply about this and he said that he loves and forgives me. He said that he sees potential in me and believes that I wont hurt him anymore by accusing him. Which I have not and I'm happy that we are in a better place. The only problem is that I'm having a hard time forgiving myself. It hurts me that I hurt his feelings by accusing him and not believing a word he'd say. I told him this and he said " Baby, I forgive you, so you should forgive yourself" How can I forgive myself for hurting the one person that has been there for me?

How can I forgive myself for hurting the one person that has been there for me?

Well, the easy answer, which you seem to already have grasped, is to not continue the negative behaviors. Hopefully you appreciate the irony of choosing this man because he's not like the others - and then blaming him for what the others have done.

Glad you've gotten counseling, you might consider continuing until these related concepts no longer preoccupy you...

Mr. Lucky

• Like 1
How can I forgive myself for hurting the one person that has been there for me?

sumboy96,

You have learned the lesson and done the healing work; so, you have 'redeemed' yourself on all levels.