Marriage Crisis (What do I do now?)

I was married back in February. I have known my husband since July 2013. I'm 27 and he is 30. It is the first marriage for both of us. No kids.

We had to move to a different state away from both of our families for his job.

I have a college degree but I'm not using it and working in retail (under 30 hours a week) and going back to school for an accounting degree.

We don't sleep in the same room (he has to sleep upright because of his back, and I can't sleep if I'm upright. And I snore which annoys him). So he sleeps in the bed and I sleep in the living room on the couch.

I avoid sex and dread it when he wants it. It's always just about him, he doesn't even try to fulfill my needs in the bedroom, and if he does, he gives up rather quickly.

We rarely do anything outside of the apartment. Due to my strange work hours in retail, and his complaining that there is nothing to do in this city and it costs too much money.

And now, he is treating me like a child. Asking to see my bank account and making sure I don't overdraft. At one point I had to hand over my online accounts and he changed the passwords to them so I wouldn't have access. He also has my debit and checks. I earn about $100-150 a week. He has a full-time job making about $52k a year. He pays rent and expects me to pay utilites, cable, internet. We don't have any joint form of finances.

I just don't know what to do at this point. I threaten to just move back home with my parents because it would probably be better for both of us.

Any thoughts on this situation?

You sound more like a prisoner then a wife.

Get some MC. You both need to learn to communicate in & out of the bedroom. Relearning to date on a budget could be helpful & you really need a more equitable financial arrangement.

Whatever you do, don't get pregnant.

• Like 1