In over my head?

Okay so I'm not really sure who to turn to or to talk to so, I'm going to turn to you guys in stead for some advice.

Basically, I studied abroad in a Japan for one year. (I am in advanced Japanese and he speaks English a bit so a language barrier isn't really a problem!)

I met a guy and we feel hard for each other. In Japanese there is a confession process were you say you like each other than you start dating? Usually, someone asks will you date me as well but that didn't happen for me. We confessed but there was no serious committment in my mind and we had an undefined intimate relationship.

When we met, I was 21 and he was 25 and he is turning 26 this month. We would hang out a lot but it was always hard to see him since he already graduated from university and I am still attending. He originally said we were going to take things slow and that he wants a girlfriend and will wait for me?

Anyways, we had a couple of rough patches the year that I was there. I am kind of a three strike person, and if you mess up three times you are out of my life. And that's what he did. We spent his birthday together for example but he never called me or saw me on mine when he promised. He often would never keep any promises to me. Don't get me wrong, he is the most open minded, kind and calm person I have ever met. He drives me crazy and keeps me grounded at the same time.

Further, another issue we have is that I would always give him cards, make him things etc. he never did anything like that for me. It was hard enough for him to call or see me. I don't care about him spending money on me but at least a letter or card right? I asked him so many times to do and he would never do.

But, I have talked with his family so many times and they adore me so his family accepting me is NOT a problem. (I just want to throw that out here just in case since I know many relationships like this have family acceptance issues).