LDR+Age Difference

Hello everyone,

I've been talking with a man on the Net for nearly three months.He's 13 years older than me,and I'll enter the uni this september.

We live in different countries.

A few times he said he sometimes feels like the age difference between us makes him think that I may find him old and head towards someone who is the same age as me,especially in university.

But I'm not really interested in my peers,I'm not saying that I'm too mature or something like that,but generally they're too childish for their age.I said what I think about this situation to him,and now it's like there is no problem.I really like having nice conversations with him.

Do you think the age gap is too big?

He also said that he can visit me sometimes when I start university,at least for a few days,so that we can spend time together,we could even travel together.

What do you think about this? Age difference?

Thank you in advance.

Edited by Moondaisy

Yes, 13 years at your age is too big - you said you're entering uni so you're probably something like 18 and him 31. Most normal 31 yo's have a completely different worldview, thought processes and priorities from normal 18 yo's. I hate to say this, but EVERYONE thinks they're 'mature for their age'... until several years down the line when they realize that they weren't.

Don't do this. College is probably the absolute best time to meet boys and experience dating for the first time (if you haven't yet). You have the whole world ahead of you. You shouldn't be tied down to a 31 yo when you're in college.

If you do decide to let him visit you, do NOT travel with him for the first time, meet in a public place like you would with a date.

• Like 4

Let me put a different spin on it for you...

Would you date someone your father's age or one of your high school teachers? That's essentially what we're talking about here. I hope your answer would be no.