What's your best LDR ? What are the rules of LDR?

Hi All,

First post, and I'm a little bit of a newbie here so please go easy on me :laugh:

Here's my situation:

I have not been in a LDR for very long. My boyfriend and I met two months ago in Sydney and we spent every second day together - which is insane given I'm usually a typical one date-per week 'play the game' type of lady. We slept together once, and then could not as I had surgery the week after (to which he was understanding and very sweet.) He left a month ago to go back to Dubai where he lives with his family. The decision to do LDR was not hard, we simply could not imagine not doing it despite being highly rational people who fully understood the difficulties.

Even with his leaving hanging over us, feelings neither of us have ever felt developed before. I'm his first girlfriend and lover (he's 23), and I (22) have just come out of a year+ relationship half a year ago, which I ended because there was simply no long-term love. So while relationships are new to him, LDRs are new to me so there is an element of uncertainty involved. I'm usually the most rational person, who doesn't believe in love over a month. However I can say it truly it is that and not infatuation - I can see his flaws. I can see his medical concerns and while they're frustrating we can work around them. To be cliche, I think he's the one. Which is insane for my age and our time together.