Who drives??

Ok, just curious here...

If you are considering a LDR, would you allow the guy to drive towards you if he took the initiative to offer or would you meet him half-way?

Also, what about first date(s)? I mean, I'd prefer to meet the guy half way and if we kick it off, then switch up between one of us driving all the way and/or meeting in between.

Comments? Experiences on what worked?

When I was in an LDR I mostly flew to him. At the time I was a student. There was a great deal through Am Ex where you could get $99 tickets on Northwest (yes I'm going back) anywhere in the continental US so it was cheaper for me to go to him. He'd often give me the money because he worked. I had more flexibility.

For a 1st meet, no matter what the distance, half way is best although the 2 OLD dates I had with guys that lived more than 2 hours away they insisted on the chivalrous thing & they came closer to me, maybe 1/2 hour from my house.

Do you have an LDR prospect Gloria? :confused:

When I first booked my flight for Florida Timshel and I had just started talking and I was planning to live in St. Petersburg, about 4 hours from Tallahassee. There was discussion about meeting in the middle for the first time but I had a problem letting her drive 2 hours to see me so I just headed up to Tallahassee instead. I think it works better if the guy shows he's legit by taking the time and effort to go see the woman, but I know for a lot of people finances and schedules play into it.

One thing I will say Gloria, LDRs can be difficult and you should probably have an idea for an endgame in your head pretty early on. Like how you're going to end up in the same place together eventually. It was so brutal not being able to see her in person when I wanted that after our second date I just packed up and went north for good.

Michelle ma Belle