What is going on here?

lovesick123

My boyfriend loves me, and I love him. We live 7 hours away from each other. I'm treated like a queen in person. He has two jobs, one is commission based (which is stressful and competitive) and the other is a part time restaurant job. He is also in undergrad school full time taking online courses. I am a school teacher who has a lot more free time and, I have my master's degree in education. He is stressed right now. We have had arguments about the lack of communication in distance. At one point, I asked him if he wanted to break up since he didn't have much time to even call sometimes; however, he texted if he didn't call. Some days he's hot, and some days he is cold towards me. That's the part that hurts me. In person, he is easy to communicate with, he takes me to meet the most important people in his life, (he's proud and happy around me even while we are alone) on dates, kisses, hugs me in public and I know I am valued; he does all the little things that I look for in a guy. He is the only person that I can spend loads of time with and never get tired of. He feels and shows the same towards me. However, when he is stressed, he says meanest things in distance when we have a little argument. He says things like, "I don't know if I can put up with you anymore." followed by a "break." He doesn't conclude things on a positive and mutual note even when I tried to discuss things. He just says things like, "I don't know if I want to be with you anymore," which hurts my feelings. Every time, he says things like that, I feel that he is serious, and so I break up with him. Then, he will come running back saying he was sorry and blowing my phone up, and even drive where I live to talk to me in person. The thing is, I don't want to be in a dysfunctional relationship like this. However, I would take him back since things would be so easy and different in person. One day, after he drove where I live, I told him I couldn't do it anymore ev