Am I Wasting My Time?

PreppyPoppy

There is a guy that I have been talking to from online for close to three years now. We started chatting because we shared a mutual interest and a close friendship seemed to blossom from there.

Over time though I have developed feelings for this guy. I really, really like him a lot and I want to meet him to see where things might take us. He has talked about how he would love to meet me as well, but nothing has materialized, which is a constant source of frustration for me personally.

We live on opposite ends of the country and I have offered to fly out to meet him. I am OK with paying for my own airfare, hotel cost, etc. He keeps telling me how he wants to meet up, but it is always some excuse with him. Most recently he says it is because he is getting a new boss at work (which is true) and because of that, he won't be able to take many days off. So because of that I would be “bored” if I came out to see him. But then a few weeks later he talks about possibly going on a trip with his mom out of the country later this year.

Another example: I bring up how I would love for him to be here when the company that I work for has their formal holiday party in mid-December. He says “I will look into it and see if it is possible” and then changes the subject. That was a month ago I brought that up and he has not mentioned a word about it since.

I really don't know what to do at this point. He has told me before that out of everyone he knows, he confides in me the most. He mentioned once when someone asked him that he hasn't seen in awhile if he has a girlfriend, he told me he responded with “Well there is this girl that I know. I don't know if we are boyfriend and girlfriend, but I can say we are really close.” I was the girl he was referring to.