New at LDR - how do you deal with the fear?

So I am in New York and he is in Australia and we are trying to make it work. Hopefully I can visit him in during Christmas break. I am doing my masters here so I can't just leave.

How do you deal with the fear that one day he will just call and say he doesn't want to do it anymore? Right now he says he is committed and we talk everyday, but I love him so much and I am so scared something is going to happen and I won't realize because I don't see him. If we last until Christmas Break than we can figure out if I can spend the summer with him. But I am so scared since that is 4 months away.

Any advice?

How do you deal with the fear that one day he will just call and say he doesn't want to do it anymore?

I live with it. At times, I keep it to myself. At times, I tell him about my fears. He reassures me. I'm part of his DNA by now. But that comes from years of helping each other through thick and thin, and still loving each other like day one or more. How long have you two been together? I guess that counts a lot.

Any advice?

Is that your only fear? Your only issue? What happens after Christmas? How many times can you meet each other during the year? How long each time? When will you be done with your Master's?

How serious is it? And who will move where?

• Like 2

If you are that afraid & insecure, you don't have an LDR. They require huge amounts of trust & faith.

Even if you lived in the same house, there's always the possibility that the other person will one day wake up & say I don't want to do this any more.

To cope you focus on the good things like the next visit & when you will finally be able to be together. You stay in touch & you laugh.

• Like 4

you will be fine you may bake the turkey together do the Christmas shopping together, why worry what happens after Christmas still August my dear.

• Like 1
  • Author

How long have you two been together? I guess that counts a lot.