Is it possible to develop a relationship cross-country?

I'm hoping to get advice from those of you are more experienced with long-distance relationships. I've crazily enough got myself into a situation where I am "kind of"/ambiguously dating someone who lives on another continent (never thought it would happen to me haha). Long story short is I studied abroad for a semester and my second week there I met a guy who I ended up dating the entire time there (about 3.5 months). It all actually started out very slow- firstly because I wanted to make sure he was legit/safe because we met at a club. The second reason it started out slow was because of a slight language barrier. When I first arrived there my Spanish was pretty rusty/bad, but by the end of my time there it improved drastically (he also speaks English well, but there are still occasional misunderstandings that come about mainly with cultural differences). The entire time I was there I kept it fairly casual, because I knew I was going to leave eventually and I didn't want to be so attached when I left. Not only that, but I wanted the experience to be about myself - which it was, so I was kind of emotionally distant.

Fast forward to now. I came home a little over 2 months ago, and we're talking all the time - even more than we did before because now I have a cell phone plan/WhatsApp. I had no idea if he would still talk to me when I left, but to my surprise we've been talking almost every day, and fairly often during the day. Even on his vacation he texts me/when he's watching the world cup games. His sister also added me on Facebook, and I never met her when I was there- only one of his best guy friends. So he's had to have mentioned me to his family.