How do you know someone is genuine?

espinoza0

I am in a long distance relationship, and I am from the Persian Gulf, so is my lover. We met online and later in real life. We had been online for close to a month, and the last two weeks were daily almost 24 hour connection, he would wake me up, we'd go to sleep at the same time, and he even helped me through my first public lecture (I am a university teacher). I am 37, he is 28. He was completely supportive, I really never met anyone like him. I like a guy who is physical (he is a navy officer). Everyone else I had known were intellectual and very lazy, so to speak. I like a guy with whom I can go for a vigorous swim, or a boat ride, etc. I love the sea. He was posted on an island, so it was so romantic to talk to him from there as well, I mean, extra bonuses like that with someone this good, my oh my. And he loved fishing. Awesome. We talked about moving to a country we both like, and marriage down the line. I am a very rational girl, so I thought things were moving too fast, but it felt right. He was extremely supportive and so very sexy, and really grown up for his age.

I had written about this in the Dating post: that we met in a neutral country, because I cancelled his trip to my country where public display of affection is banned, even hugging. We spent 3 great days together. It was sublime. He has his intellectual side as well, which made him just so irresistible. He had told me someone committed fraud against him, and he is in a very big debt because of it. After we got back, we contacted each other for a day or two, then he disappeared for two weeks.

Then I fished him out of the sea, so to speak, we talked for four hours for a day, and said hi the next morning, and now he is gone again 10 days, and his phone is off, though his bbm is still delivering messages (at some point they weren't either).